Sesame Ginger Salmon with Asian Quinoa

During our trip to Costco yesterday, (…we’ve become regulars on Sundays – usually the best day to hit up the sample people…) I spotted fresh WILD Sockeye Salmon… I don’t like the farmed stuff. Since we’re trying to get healthier, I thought this would be good for a meal this week. Again, I went with an Asian theme. I already had the ginger, so why not?? And to go with my Asian salmon, I needed an Asian side… Quinoa. Genius! Now we’ve really got a healthy meal!

I started with the salmon first. I made the marinade and put it in the fridge for 30 min, and while it was marinading I made the glaze, then I started the quinoa. Once the quinoa was on the stove, I switched back to the salmon, and got it under the broiler. Eeek! I must confess, broiling scares me. There, I said it. The salmon needed to broil for 10-12 min, and my lovely husband decided we needed to pour all that yummy marinade over the top before we put it under the broiler… Bad idea. As I sat watching nervously, the “toppings” started creating little fireballs in the oven!! I freaked out (of course), and quickly dropped it down a rack, and made “said hubby” sit and watch it until it was done. I must say, the crispy, charred top was delicious!

20130708-210644.jpg

Sesame Ginger Salmon
Adapted from How Sweet It Is
Makes 2-3 Servings.

1 1/2 pounds fresh wild salmon
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoon soy sauce
2 garlic cloves, grated
1 tablespoons freshly grated ginger
1-2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds
4 green onions, sliced

In a small mixing bowl, combine olive oil, sesame oil, vinegar, sugar, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, and sesame seeds and whisk well until combined. Put salmon and marinade in a ziplock bag, then refrigerate and marinate for 30 minutes.

(Now is when I make the glaze and start the quinoa.)

Preheat the broiler in your oven. (Or preheat your grill, if you’re afraid of the broiler like me.) Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place a wire rack over top. Spray the rack with nonstick spray.

Remove salmon with kitchen tongs and place directly on the wire rack. (There should be enough marinade stuck to it, without having to pour the rest of it on.) Sprinkle with a little bit of salt and pepper, then place directly under the broiler. (Watch it!!) Cook for 10-12 minutes, depending on the salmon’s thickness (our’s was just about an inch thick), until opaque and easily flakable with a fork.

Remove and serve immediately, with a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds, green onions and drizzle with the glaze below.

Sesame Ginger Honey Glaze

1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1/2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until smooth. Serve over salmon.

Asian Quinoa
Makes 4 servings. Prep and Cook time 25 min.

1 cup water
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
1 medium sweet red pepper, chopped
1/2 cup sliced water chestnuts, chopped
1/2 cup fresh sugar snap peas, trimmed and halved
2 green onions, thinly sliced

Directions
In a large saucepan, combine water, vinegar, hoisin, garlic, ginger, sesame oil, salt and red pepper flakes; bring to a boil. Add quinoa. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 12-15 minutes or until water is absorbed. (Mine took about 18 min)

Remove from the heat. Add the red pepper, water chestnuts, peas and onions; fluff with a fork and serve.

Leave a Reply

