Easter Eggs & Roasted Garlic Hummus

In addition to Easter baskets, Jon and I have made it a tradition to dye Easter eggs. I always scour the Internet for new dying methods, and the only new one I came up with this year was the Tie Dye Method. We only did one egg using this method, but it worked pretty well, so we agreed to do more next year. We also used several methods from previous years – stickers, crayons, vinyl sheeting (in the past we used electrical tape, but the vinyl sheeting was much easier to work with), and ombré-style. You can see from our set up, we don’t mess around!

20130406-170835.jpg
Note: a glass of wine is necessary to get the creative juices flowing!

I love dying eggs with my hubby, because he’s really creative. Unfortunately he got a little frustrated this time around after breaking 3 eggs – I blame all those muscles. 😉

20130406-171038.jpg

The results speak for themselves. We had some really cool ones, and a few duds in the mix, but overall they turned out great! The vinyl sheeting, crayons and tie dye methods are definitely keepers for next go around.

20130406-171529.jpg

20130406-171538.jpg

For Easter Day we went out to my parents house and I made these little gems. Aren’t they adorable?! Homemade Roasted Garlic Hummus in little flower pots, served with baby carrots.

20130406-171846.jpg

20130406-171857.jpg
This was my first go at homemade hummus, and I was pretty satisfied. I added extra olive oil and I’d probably add a bit more lemon juice next time. I also found out that tahini is expensive! Over $6 for a can. Although you get so much and only use a little at a time, so at least it will last a while. I’ll be on Foodgakwer.com in the near future to find some more hummus recipes. 😉

Leave a Reply

