Key Lime Pie Ice Cream

O….M….G….! This ice cream is delicious! My loving husband even put it up there with Norman Love Gelato… I’m not sure if he’s just being sweet, but it is really friggin’ good! I’ve had my ice cream machine since August of last year. A bridal shower gift from my sister-in-law. Thank you Karen!! But I kept forgetting to put the freezer bowl, in the freezer…duh! (It needs to freeze for 16-24 hrs) So yesterday morning I finally remembered. 😀

I decided to skip the “suggested recipes” that come with the machine, and try out one of my Foodgawker.com recipes. Considering the hot weather we’ve been having down here in FL, Key Lime Pie Ice Cream seemed like a good choice. Fresh key lime zest and juice, a little graham cracker… Yum!

20130421-211504.jpg
I have to say, the 12 key limes for 1/2 cup of juice did NOT happen… I used the entire bag. But the limes not being in season, could be to blame. To be honest I have no idea what peak season is for key limes. So 2,000 little limes and sore thumbs later I had the necessary juice.

This recipe takes a few steps, between creating the lime base, chilling it, creating a custard, and chilling that. Then combining everything together with heavy cream… I had no idea how bad ice cream really was for you. Oh well, it was worth it!

20130421-211821.jpg
Not my best photography here, but i really wanted to dig in… I also failed to add the sprinkle of crushed graham cracker I had set aside, but I’ll let you use your imagination on that. Jon’s already asked me what kind I’m going to make next. LOL. I told him this would be a once a month ordeal, not once a week. Love his enthusiasm though.

Key Lime Pie Ice Cream

1 tbsp key lime zest (about 4 key limes)
1/2 cup key lime juice (about 12 limes)
3/4 cups sugar
pinch of salt
1 cup milk
4 egg yolks
2 cups cream
1/2 cup graham crackers, crushed

Mix the zest, juice, sugar, and salt together in a bowl. Let sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours. Heat the milk until it is just boiling. Remove from heat. Whisk a quarter cup of the hot milk into the egg yolks (to temper the yolks). Whisk in a little more. Scrape the yolk-milk mixture back into the rest of the milk and whisk together. Place over medium heat and whisk constantly until the custard has thickened (should coat the back of a spoon). Place the custard on ice or in the refrigerator until it is chilled completely. Mix the sugar-lime mixture, the custard, and the cream together in a large bowl. Churn the ice cream in your ice cream maker according to the ice cream maker instructions. Stir the graham crackers into the soft ice cream. Freeze. Makes about 1.75 quarts.

Leave a Reply

