Coconut Curried Beef

I saw these mini BellaFina Sweet Mini-Peppers in the grocery store, and I’ve been dying to use them. Mainly because they’re “spee”. Let me explain… Spee is a word created by my mom to describe something that is a smaller, cuter version of its full-sized counterpart. These peppers = spee!
20130502-205332.jpgI put my wine glass next to them for scale.

A week after I spotted them, they went on sale, so I bought them. But after a couple days in the fridge, I realized I had no idea what to do with them… Luckily, the company, Bailey Farms, has a website with lots of recipes utilizing they cute little guys. So Jon and I decided on Katie’s Curries Beef. I don’t know who Katie is, but her Curried Beef is delicious!

Katie’s Curried Beef

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
8-10 mini sweet peppers, seeded and cut into thin strips (I used 6, because that’s what was in the package)
1 medium onion, halved and sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1-inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced
1 (13.5 oz) can coconut milk
1 tablespoon coconut oil (can substitute olive oil) – I used coconut
2 tablespoons red curry paste
1 tablespoon Thai fish sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
Basmati rice, cooked

Instructions:

1. Brown ground beef in a large skillet. Drain if necessary and remove beef to a bowl. Set aside.

2. Add 1 tablespoon coconut oil (or olive oil) to skillet on medium-high heat to melt oil. Add onion and saute for one minute. Add garlic, ginger, and peppers and saute for about 3 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

3. Reduce heat to medium-low. Add red curry paste, fish sauce, brown sugar, and coconut milk. Stir well to dissolve curry paste and sugar. Return beef to the skillet and stir to mix with sauce.

4. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

5. Serve over rice.

Serves four.
20130502-210806.jpg

One thought on “Coconut Curried Beef

Leave a Reply

