Pasta with Avocado Sauce, Ham & Peas

Tonight was concoction night! I had plans to make ribs and side salad with avocado, but I didn’t start the ribs soon enough. So, plan B – I started researching what else I could do with my avocado. I came across a recipe for Avocado Alfredo and I tweaked it a bit. I have to admit, I used a little too much garlic and lemon juice, but I’ve adjusted the recipe below for next time.

This strangely-green, delicious pile of “stuff” is the finished product. Don’t mind the mis-mosh of pasta shapes… I was trying to use up a few different partial boxes. I’ve got a mixture of shells, mini penne and garden harvest fettuccine.
20130625-204024.jpg
I added some frozen peas and cubed ham. I’ve always liked these add-ins with alfredo sauce, so I figured they would be good in this too. I bought a large ham steak. I find mine in the meat section at the grocery store. Here’s a picture (Mine wasn’t this exact ham, this has water added, mine was in natural juices, same brand though).
20130625-205622.jpg
Pasta with Avocado Sauce, Ham & Peas
Serves 4. Prep time 20 min.

1 pound Pasta – any shape 😉
2 cloves Garlic
4 Tbsp. Olive Oil (plus more for pasta and adjusting sauce thickness)
1 Lemon
2 Avocados
1/4 Fresh Basil
Salt, to taste
1/2-3/4 cup Frozen Peas, thawed
1 cup Chopped Ham Steak
Fresh Cracked Pepper, for serving
Shaved Parmesan Cheese, for serving

Cook pasta as directed on box. Once cooked, drain and toss with olive oil (so it doesn’t stick).

While pasta is cooking start the sauce. Roughly chop garlic cloves, and put in Magic Bullet or food processor. Add 4 Tbsp of olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice. Pulse to purée.

Remove avocado pits and scoop out the flesh of the avocado. Roughly chop avocado and basil, and add to the garlic/oil/lemon mixture. Add salt to taste. Purée until smooth. Check seasoning, add more salt of needed. If you want your sauce a little thinner, drizzle another tablespoon or so of olive oil and pulse until its the desired consistency.

Stir sauce, peas and ham into pasta. Serve with fresh shaved Parmesan cheese and fresh cracked pepper.

I’ll warn you ahead of time. This has RAW garlic, which means your gonna taste and smell garlicky for a while. And my husband said the raw garlic gave it some kick. It turned out delicious and was fairly healthy. It’s definitely a keeper!

One thought on “Pasta with Avocado Sauce, Ham & Peas

Leave a Reply

