Baked Panko Breaded Flounder

Tonight’s dinner was baked flounder, with salad, and make-shift garlic bread. I had some frozen wild flounder I wanted to use up and a lemon, so this recipe was a perfect fit. I modified it and made it a little less healthier. I know, I know… Why the hell would I do that?! Because I wasn’t too sure about the healthier version, that’s why! The healthier version used half ground oats and half Panko bread crumbs. I opted for all Panko.

I paired it with a salad. Not very exciting… Except for the fact I used some homegrown sungold tomatoes from my giant “beanstalk” tomato “tree”. Yes, the beast of a plant below is my tomato plant. I promise, I haven’t pumped it full of growth hormone or steroids or anything. My moms theory is that its “reaching” for sun. Could be true. I had to get up on a step stool to harvest tomatoes the other day, which was pretty hilarious. It would probably still be growing if it wasn’t hitting the top of the lanai cage.

20130801-203248.jpg
Here’s the beast… Mind you, I’m 5’9″!

20130801-203412.jpg
Here are the sweet little fruits of its labor. 🙂

20130801-203613.jpg
The salad had spinach leaves, sliced baby carrots, halved Sungold tomatoes, and garlic and herb goat cheese. The make-shift garlic bread was a last minute idea from my hubby. He threw together some bread, butter, garlic powder and shaved Parmesan. Turned out pretty good for the amount of time it took.

Baked Panko Breaded Flounder
Original recipe can be found here.
Serves 2-3

1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1-1/2 tablespoons chopped parsley (or 1 heaping tsp of dried)
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
Kosher salt and black pepper
4 flounder fillets (6 ounces each) or other white fish

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Mix the panko breadcrumbs, garlic, parsley, oregano, lemon juice, zest, oil, and ½ teaspoon salt in a small bowl.

Place the fish filets on a baking sheet lined with parchment or foil and season them lightly with salt and pepper. Spoon equal amounts of the breadcrumb mixture onto the filets, lightly pressing it in so that it adheres to the fish.

Bake in the oven 10-12 minutes until the fish is opaque and topping is golden brown. (Mine took 10 min) If the topping needs to be browned further, place the fish under the broiler for a minute or two.

Leave a Reply

