Salmon Burgers

I’ve had this recipe saved for a couple of years, and I finally made it. Hubby was out of town earlier this week, and I didn’t feel like making a full meal, but still wanted some kind of protein. I flipped through my recipe binder and found this forgotten recipe. I had everything I needed except the salmon and lettuce, so I was only a quick grocery store trip away from dinner.

I bought wild salmon in a packet. I like this better than the can. You don’t have to drain it, and it doesn’t have that metal taste.
20130822-174325.jpg
These were fairly simple to make. Just a little chopping, measuring and mixing it all together. Make sure to use a large pan or griddle to cook these. I made the mistake of crowding them in the pan and it was difficult to flip them. They want to break apart, so it’s important to flip them quickly and carefully.
20130822-175143.jpg
Salmon Burgers
Makes 4 burgers.

15 oz salmon, drained and flaked
1 egg, lightly beaten
¼ cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons finely chopped shallot
1 garlic clove, minced
¼ cup minced red bell pepper
1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
¼ teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
¼ teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
1 teaspoon lemon zest
¼ cup Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs
¼ teaspoon garlic salt
½ tablespoon chopped fresh Italian parsley
1 tablespoon canola oil
4 whole-wheat buns
Garnishes: lettuce, tomato slices & tomato-basil mayo (recipe below)

Combine salmon and next 12 ingredients in a bowl. Mix well. (I used my hands) Form mixture into 4 equal patties about ½ inch thick.

Heat oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add patties, and cook 5 minutes on each side. Serve on toasted buns. Garnish with Sun Fried Tomato Basil Mayo, Lettuce and Tomato.

Sun-dried Tomato-Basil Mayonnaise
Combine ½ cup low-fat mayonnaise, 2 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes, and 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil in a small bowl. Spread on burgers. Makes ½ cup.
20130822-175242.jpg

Leave a Reply

