Greek Chicken Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce

Another chicken burger recipe in the books! Quick, easy, packed with flavor, and pretty darn healthy too. After falling off the wagon on healthy eating during our week long vacation, this week is “get back on track week”. Except for the Publix Black Swamp Raspberry Cheesecake ice cream… and the Pepperidge Farm Carmel Apple Cookies we bought… I had to bribe my husband to come with me to the store somehow. Don’t judge me!! I was only planning on the cookies (because I had a coupon of course), but then he found the ice cream and it sounded too good to pass up. Let me tell you… It’s totally worth the calories!
20130916-202626.jpg
Anyway, back to tonight’s dinner. I suppose you could use ground turkey for these, but I like Perdue’s ground chicken. (NOT ground chicken breast – it’s too dry.) I used Chobani 2% plain Greek yogurt. It’s not as tangy, but still fairly healthy. This recipe also calls for kalamata olives. Don’t leave them out! Trust me, my husband hates olives… All varieties. But, since he’s the best hubs ever, he let me put them in. So I practically pulverized them with my knife before I added them in. They add a ton of flavor without coming off olive-y. He even told me I could put them in next time too. Best – ever!

20130916-205743.jpg

Greek Chicken Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce

INGREDIENTS

Tzatziki Sauce
1 medium peeled or unpeeled cucumber
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons diced onion
2 teaspoons chopped fresh mint

Burgers
1 lb lean ground chicken
1 cup chopped fresh spinach
1/4 cup diced pitted kalamata olives
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 whole-grain pita breads (6 inch), cut in half to form pockets
1/2 cup chopped fresh tomato

DIRECTIONS

Dice enough cucumber to equal 1/2 cup; place in small bowl (slice remaining cucumber for sandwiches; set aside). Stir in remaining sauce ingredients; refrigerate until ready to use.

Preheat broiler. In large bowl, mix chicken, spinach, olives, cornstarch, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper. Shape into 4 oval patties, each about 1/2 inch thick. (I made mine a little thick – 1/2 in would’ve been better.) Place patties on sprayed broiler pan. Broil with tops about 5 inches from heat for about 6 minutes, flip then over, and broil another 5 minutes, or until cooked through.

Place burgers in pita pocket halves. To serve, top each burger with tomato, cucumber slices and about 3 tablespoons sauce.

20130916-205954.jpg

Leave a Reply

