Crockpot Carnitas

I’m soooo behind on my blogging! I haven’t stopped cooking, I’ve just stopped posting. I’m hoping to catch up in the next few days though. I’ve had a few good “blog-worthy” recipes lately, just haven’t had time to post them. That stupid “work/job” thing has worn me out and I’ve been a bit lazy at night. But… its the weekend, I’ve participated in a beer tasting at a local brewery (excuse any misspellings/poor grammar), and I’m feeling pretty relaxed, so I decided it’s time to catch up! (Side note: hubby and I will be doing an at-home pumpkin beer tasting soon. We bought 7 pumpkin beers from Total Wine, and will be doing our own sampling. I will definitely blog about this one, so be sure to keep an eye out for it!)

Back to TONIGHT’S dinner… Very easy to make, the crockpot does all the work for you. It only took about 10-15 min prep, then set it and forget it. (Isn’t that from some informercial??). I used an organic salsa (hubs isn’t one for heat, so i used mild, but it comes in medium too), and corn/wheat tortillas. Both delicious – I will be using these again.

20131026-191059.jpg
20131026-191218.jpg

Crockpot Carnitas
Serves 6-8

INGREDIENTS
2 lbs flank steak
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped

Spice Rub
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Serving
corn tortillas
1-2 avocados, sliced
cilantro, roughly chopped
salsa
limes (for squeezing)

DIRECTIONS
Mix together the spices in a small bowl. Rub the spices all over your flank steak – yes, all of it! (It will seem like a lot, its not) Place steak at the bottom of your crock pot.

Cover the steak with the chopped onions, bell peppers and jalapeno pepper. Turn heat on LOW and cook for 8 hours.

After 8 hours, remove meat from crock pot and shred with a fork. Use a slotted spoon to remove the peppers and onions and toss with the shredded meat.

To serve, heat your corn tortillas. Spoon some carnitas on a tortilla then top with salsa, avocado, cilantro and a squeeze of lime.

20131026-192037.jpg

Leave a Reply

