Pumpkin, Apple, Cinnamon Scones

I really need to get back on track with posting… Sorry folks. I’ve got an arsenal of photos on my iPad of my latest and greatest, I just haven’t made the time to get them on here. I just finished making these scones and they turned out beautiful and the house smells awesome, so I decided to sit my butt down and post them NOW! (Plus, its leftover night… Delicious lemon-chicken orzo soup with baby spinach from last night. Yup, another on the to-post-list!)

I had planned to make these babies a few weeks ago, but the stores had not gotten the cinnamon chips in yet. If you’re not familiar with these little gems, go to your grocery store and snag a bag… or 3 (because they are seasonal). I always make some kind of baked good for my hubby for breakfast since he usually runs out the door with little time to spare. And I saw that he had finished the pumpkin bread I made last week (another future post). And since I had snagged my cinnamon chips last night when I was in the store, I could finally make my scones. They’re pretty simple to make. Dough gets a little sticky and you will probably get flour on half of kitchen, but they’re worth it.

Here are my beloved cinnamon chips! – Mom introduced these to me a few years ago.

20131111-183446.jpg

And here are my scrumptious scones! Drooooool….. The cinnamon chips melt down and make them all extra delicious.

20131111-183519.jpg

Pumpkin, Apple, Cinnamon Scones
Makes 8 scones

Ingredients
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
6 tablespoons cold butter, cubed into small pieces
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
1/3 cup pumpkin
1 cup chopped unpeeled apple
1/3 cinnamon chips

Instructions
Preheat oven to 425º F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Add flour, brown sugar, baking powder and pumpkin spice to a large bowl, mix to evenly distribute.

Add cubed butter and milk, and cut into flour mixture with a pastry cutter. Using a hand mixer with dough hooks, mix in egg and pumpkin for 3 minutes or until all is well incorporated.

By this point the mixture should be like a pizza dough or bread dough consistency. Add the chopped apple and cinnamon chips and mix on low until pieces are evenly mixed in.

Flour your workspace and turn the dough onto it, sprinkling more flour on top of the dough mound. (This is where things can get messy). Form dough into a ball by hand and flatten out into a round disk about 1 inch thick.

With a knife or pizza cutter divide dough into 8 even slices. Place slices on parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Bake at 425º F for 15 minutes. Then take out of the oven and let cool on a cooling rack.

20131111-184603.jpg

Leave a Reply

